Skip to content

Kubrick ripped off Eyes Wide Shut from an 80’s Video!

June 4, 2010

I actually liked Eyes Wide Shut, thought it was a cool premise and movie.  But now I see this Laura Brannigan video from the 80’s called Self-Control and I realize that Kubrick was just drunk one night watching VH1 Classic and lifted the video for a movie idea.

Tom Cruise in the "Self Control" rip off movie

Lord Knows who as the original masked orgy-er

Don’t believe me?

Take a look for yourself

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 12:31 pm

    Really / I think the password “Fidelio” is the key not only to entry to the estate grounds – but to appreciating Kubrick’s sly reference to Beethoven’s Opera of the same name.The list of ‘borrowers” should include the dear,late Ms. Brannigan.

  2. Nell permalink
    March 10, 2012 9:44 pm

    Wow funny. I’ve been saying for years he ripped off the plot of Hawthorne’s Young Goodman Brown. Guess he was reading it while VH1 was on in the background?

Leave a comment